Skip to content
Back to Journal
Life in the UAE8 min read

Cheaper Housing for People Working in Dubai: What Do You Actually Save?

In this 14 September 2026 sample of 1-bedroom unfurnished yearly apartments, Ajman cut housing-plus-fee cost more than Sharjah Al Nahda. Extra commuting can erase both gaps, and the answer changes if you work in Dubai Internet City rather than near the airport.

Ajman is the only clearly cheaper housing choice in this sample, and only if extra commuting stays below about AED 1,400 a month. Sharjah Al Nahda is only modestly cheaper than International City after fees. Four extra peak Salik crossings a day (two gates each way) already wipe the Sharjah gap. Two extra peak crossings a day cost AED 277.20 and do not.

This sample compares nine advertised 1-bedroom, unfurnished, yearly, whole apartments with prices checked on 14 September 2026: three in International City, three in Al Nahda (Sharjah), three in Al Nuaimiya (Ajman). It is not a city average and not a promise that those homes are still available.

Go straight to: Direct answer · Sample · Two workplaces · Break-even commuting · What you give up · Arrival cash

Direct answer

Use International City as the outer-Dubai baseline in this sample (median advertised rent AED 42,000).

WhereMedian advertised yearly rentHousing fee used hereMonthly rent plus that fee
International City, Dubai42,000Dubai 5% housing fee plus Ejari 177.753,689.81
Al Nahda, Sharjah36,990Sharjah attestation 4% (min 500) plus form 1003,214.13
Al Nuaimiya, Ajman27,000Ajman Tasdeeq 2% (min 400) = 5402,295.00

Monthly housing-plus-fee save versus International City, with annual fees spread over 12 months: AED 475.68 in Sharjah, AED 1,394.81 in Ajman.

  • Choose Ajman if you already have a car, your extra fuel, maintenance, tolls and parking stay under about 1,400, and you accept a longer, less walkable commute. If you have children, compare the school journey from the new address.
  • Treat Sharjah as a small cash gap. Extra running of 43.66 km per workday round trip at the chosen kilometre cost, or AED 554.40 of extra peak Salik (four crossings a day), exceeds 475.68. Two extra peak crossings a day cost 277.20 and leave 198.48 of that Sharjah save.
  • Do not count a saving if the cheaper lease is the reason you buy a first car. Insurance, registration and purchase or finance are separate.

Lease search and move-in steps: How to find accommodation. Full Dubai monthly budget context: Dubai living costs.

What the sample actually is

Same class throughout: 1 bedroom, unfurnished, yearly asking rent, whole apartment, not a room and not a holiday let. Sizes in this set run from 716 to 1,019 sq ft. Sharjah and Ajman units here are often larger than the International City units.

AreaNAdvertised yearly rentsMedian
International City340,600 · 42,000 · 43,00042,000
Al Nahda, Sharjah332,999 · 36,990 · 38,99936,990
Al Nuaimiya, Ajman325,000 · 27,000 · 28,00027,000

Median asking prices on 14 September 2026: International City AED 42,000, Al Nahda AED 36,990, Al Nuaimiya AED 27,000. Asking prices, not signed rents.

The sample includes only Bayut listings that specify furnishing and lease term.

Fees are not a universal 5%. u.ae states a 5% Dubai housing fee on yearly rent, billed on DEWA, and a 5% Abu Dhabi municipality fee on the higher of rent or the rental index. It does not state a 5% housing fee for Sharjah or Ajman. Sharjah attestation in the municipality service guide is 4% of annual rent (minimum 500) plus AED 100 for the form. Ajman Tasdeeq on the Ajman residential lease-attestation page is 2% of annual rent, minimum AED 400.

Ejari 177.75 is the Dubai registration total reused from the 11 September 2026 accommodation journal, not a newly priced 14 September tariff.

Dubai Internet City is not the airport

Named workplaces in this article: Dubai Internet City Metro Station, and Dubai International Airport / Deira as the contrasting direction.

This is one route measurement, not a rush-hour survey. On 14 September 2026 at 14:28 Asia/Dubai, Google Maps with depart now from Dragon Mart 1, International City to Dubai Internet City Metro Station quoted 28 minutes, 36.6 km, via E44, labelled fastest path and normal traffic. The same page showed 1 hour 32 minutes by public transport. That is a snapshot. It is not weekday peak.

International City to the airport or Deira is a different direction. Sharjah Al Nahda and Ajman sit toward that north-east corridor. If your workplace is Deira or the airport, the Sharjah and Ajman housing gaps become easier to keep after commuting. If it is Dubai Internet City, they become harder.

A Dubai nol 30-day all-zones product is AED 350 on the RTA nol fares page (13 passes a year for a cash budget is 379.17 a month). That product does not pay intercity buses to Sharjah or Ajman.

Housing save minus extra commuting

Net cash save = housing-plus-fee reduction minus extra fuel, maintenance, Salik, parking and intercity fares.

Chosen running cost, not a government statistic: 8 litres/100 km times ADNOC Distribution Special 95 at AED 3.69 a litre plus AED 0.20/km chosen maintenance = AED 0.4952/km. Purchase, finance, insurance and registration are not in that rate.

For the observed International City to Dubai Internet City round trip of 73.2 km, 22 workdays: AED 797.47 a month. That is the cost of driving that route if you already own the car. It is not an extra versus staying in International City.

Break-even extra travel versus staying in International City (same 22 days, same 0.4952/km):

Move toMonthly housing-plus-fee saveExtra round-trip km that uses up the saveFour extra peak Salik crossings a day
Al Nahda, Sharjah475.6843.66554.40 (already more than 475.68)
Al Nuaimiya, Ajman1,394.81128.03554.40 still leaves about 840

Salik variable rates: peak AED 6 + VAT = 6.30, low-peak AED 4 + VAT = 4.20, free 1:00 to 6:00 outside Ramadan. These peak rates are for Monday to Saturday; Sundays cost AED 4.20 during chargeable hours, except public holidays and events. VAT from 1 June 2026. The 554.40 row is 4 peak crossings a day (two gates each way) times 6.30 times 22 days. Two peak crossings a day are 277.20.

If the cheaper home is why you first buy a car, add insurance, registration and the vehicle itself on top. The rent gap is then not a free saving.

What you give up

  • Time. The 14:28 snapshot above is one off-peak drive. Sharjah and Ajman to Dubai Internet City are usually longer than International City to the airport corridor. Compare actual school-bus timing and your work shifts before you treat leftover evening time as a given.
  • Walkability and metro. International City still sits inside Dubai's nol network. Ajman and Sharjah need an intercity hop that nol does not cover.
  • School journey. If children stay in a Dubai school, measure the school run from the new address. Compare the bus route and pickup time with your work start. Do not assume you must change school.
  • Arrival cash. Sharjah attestation is much larger than Ejari, so Sharjah is not cheaper on day one even when monthly rent is lower.

None of the sampled buildings is a quality or safety recommendation.

Arrival cash and payback

This sample compares two new leases. It is not a move out of an existing Dubai tenancy. If you already hold a Dubai lease, overlapping rent and any break fee sit on top.

Illustration only: 5% agency, treated here as the total VAT-inclusive amount (u.ae says brokers may require up to 5%; that page does not state VAT), and 5% refundable deposit.

ItemInternational CityAl NahdaAl Nuaimiya
Refundable deposit2,100.001,849.501,350.00
Agency 5% (VAT-inclusive illustration)2,100.001,849.501,350.00
Annual registration paid at move-in177.751,579.60540.00
Nonrefundable setup2,277.753,429.101,890.00

Dubai's 5% housing fee is billed on DEWA through the year. Sharjah attestation and Ajman Tasdeeq are paid at registration. Keep those three apart:

  • Refundable deposit is cash you should get back. It is not a cost to recover.
  • Agency is a one-time move cost in this illustration.
  • Annual registration is a yearly fee paid up front, not a second commuting cost.

The 475.68 Sharjah save above already spreads attestation over 12 months. Do not use that save to recover the same attestation. For payback of extra initial cash, the recurring monthly save is rent plus Dubai's DEWA 5% only: AED 592.50. Sharjah nonrefundable setup is AED 1,151.35 higher than International City. At 592.50 a month that extra setup takes about 1.94 months to recover before extra commuting. If extra commuting eats the recurring save, it does not recover.

Ajman setup is lower than International City in this illustration, and the monthly housing save is larger.

First rent cheque is separate cash. Four-cheque examples in the sample are not monthly contracts.

Limits

  • Nine asking prices on one day. Not signed rents. Not availability.
  • International City sizes here are smaller than several Sharjah and Ajman units.
  • Sharjah 4% is from the municipality service guide, not a live 2026 invoice.
  • Only one route was observed. Other journeys are break-even arithmetic.
  • No time is converted into dirhams.

Calculate the save for your own journey

  1. Take the monthly housing-plus-fee save for Sharjah (475.68) or Ajman (1,394.81).
  2. Subtract your extra fuel and maintenance at 0.4952/km, extra Salik, parking and intercity fares.
  3. If the remainder is still positive and you already own the car, the cheaper lease still pays in cash. If you would be buying the car to make the lease work, price the car first.

Pre-publication check: 20 September 2026. Official fees and conditions were rechecked; the dated household and rental samples remain unchanged. Listing details, u.ae, RTA, Salik, ADNOC Distribution and Ajman Tasdeeq checked 14 September 2026. Ejari 177.75 from the 11 September 2026 accommodation journal. Cover generated with AI: a generic outer-Dubai apartment block and a highway commute, not a photograph of a real building.

Share this article

Share this article with others.